GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the site but have enjoyed poking around. I've been riding two wheels for about 25 years I guess. Most of them on a Harley.
BUT I have an 08 Goldwing being converted to a trike at this time.
One question however... I see a lot of trikes here without the floor boards... any paticular reason? Maybe I should call them running boards.. not floor boards/

·
Registered
8,038 Posts
Are you talking about the running boards that go with the Trike kit, or floor boards like are common on the Cruiser style bike???
I put on the floor boards a little while after I put on the running boards, and love them.

B

·
0 Posts
Running Boards, or Aqua Shields or Ground Effects...do serve a purpose, that of keeping some water off your legs when riding in the rain. they also may remind you not to put your feet down when stopping and thereby prevent you from running over your feet.

IMHO - the "boards" complete the look of the trike. I think the trike looks unfinished without them...but that's just my opinion

·
Banned
7,604 Posts
I'm new to the site but have enjoyed poking around. I've been riding two wheels for about 25 years I guess. Most of them on a Harley.
BUT I have an 08 Goldwing being converted to a trike at this time.
One question however... I see a lot of trikes here without the floor boards... any paticular reason? Maybe I should call them running boards.. not floor boards/
2 reasons some don't have them.
1. Simply don't like the look
2. Cost
If U don't use them be sure to get stone guards for the rear fenders!

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ground effects are what I meant to say... thanks.

·
Registered
10,849 Posts