GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I'm flying to Los Angeles on Tuesday, followed by an quick18 minute Uber ride, to the pay the dealer, and I will be ready to drive the brand-new 2018 standard DCT Gold Wing back to San Francisco.
I've been drooling 馃槢馃おover the 2018 DCT for 2 years now, finally going to pull the trigger. Barely can afford it. But now we all see life is really short馃樂. Absolute great deal found in Los Angeles. 0 suitable Gold Wing's in San Francisco.

I'm already forgetting what I forgot to remember. I just know I'm forgetting something important.馃

I feel like a few members have done the same technique... stuff a bunch of stuff into a backpack hop on an airplane, and get on a motorcycle a few hours later, for 2 or 3 days. I probably will stop in Santa Barbara for the night.

It's just that my list seems too simple what am I forgetting. What lesson will I learn.?
My helmet will not fit in my backpack, so I'm going to carry the helmet as one carry-on, and the backpack as another carry-on. no luggage checked.

1. helmet / internal sunshield.
2. jacket/ gloves.
3. iPhone.... do I need to bring the phone charger?
4. call the insurance company
5. longsleeved shirt and/or sunscreen 100掳 in California right now, so not wearing a jacket in that.
6. should I bring my iPad?
7.facemask, but of course馃樂
8. ????????
Seems like these items get the job done.

But what about the bike, I've watched approximately 40 videos on how to drive it how to start it, how to use all the controls or most of the controls. I feel very confident, this is easy peasy... which is not always a good thing.

I owned a 2006 BMW M3 with DCT, OMG.... and 9 years on a Suzuki 1300 Hayabusa, I hit 180 mph 馃殌.
the last 10 years have been on a 2001 Kawasaki Concours, my my how technology has changed.