GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
That would be me. I'm still learning.

80 ft. lbs. of torque for the rear wheel. What is/are the effects if someone tightens those lug nuts too much ??

Thanks,

# 2

·
Registered
5,058 Posts
That would be me. I'm still learning.

80 ft. lbs. of torque for the rear wheel. What is/are the effects if someone tightens those lug nuts too much ??

Thanks,

# 2
That depends on how much is too much. If you put 90 ft-lbs on them nothing will happen. If you put 500 ft-lbs on them, the lugs will either stretch out, strip or break off. The same is true on the other end. If you put 70 ft-lbs on the lug nuts no one will ever know.

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That depends on how much is too much. If you put 90 ft-lbs on them nothing will happen. If you put 500 ft-lbs on them, the lugs will either stretch out, strip or break off. The same is true on the other end. If you put 70 ft-lbs on the lug nuts no one will ever know.

Thank you. I kind of expected something like what you've said. Life's experience has shown me that theer is NO WAY some mechanics are torquing the nuts properly. My own expereinces..........
11- 12 bikes..... 1/2 million miles or so...........over 31 years on a bike................. I HAVE NEVER had a mechanic outside of a dealership ask me what the torque values were for ANY bike I've ever owned. There is NO WAY in heck ( couldn't say the 'H' word....MODS ) they either looked it up or just happened to know the correct values. No way.

And, I could be wrong, but I doubt it, I don't believe ALL dealership mechanics are doing ti properly either.