GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
2,818 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While riding on the interstate, passing a big rig in the hammer lane, what 1/3 of the lane do you see motorcyclist best? I try to always ride in the third section the greatest distance from the truck. However, I noticed today, in the mirror positioned on the fender of the truck, it looked as if I blended in with the fog line and tree line. Just curious and I know one cannot always see the what is beside them the entire length of the trailer.

·
Registered
507 Posts
Good ?
Being a truck driver myself i think i can honestly say every truck you come up on will be different. As far as what the driver see. My truck doesn't have the fender mirrors only door mirrors so i may or may not see you as fast as say someone with a fender mirror if they are properly adjusted. In any event i know i dont have to say this but what ever you dont hang around i have alittle over 2 million miles under my belt and have witnessed first hand with the new guys behind the wheel have yet figured out how to use all there mirrors.
Ride safe

·
Registered
74 Posts
Good ?
Being a truck driver myself i think i can honestly say every truck you come up on will be different. As far as what the driver see. My truck doesn't have the fender mirrors only door mirrors so i may or may not see you as fast as say someone with a fender mirror if they are properly adjusted. In any event i know i dont have to say this but what ever you dont hang around i have alittle over 2 million miles under my belt and have witnessed first hand with the new guys behind the wheel have yet figured out how to use all there mirrors.
Ride safe
VERY GOOD ADVICE