GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All - I'm a bit new to the GoldWing riding / characteristics but have been riding / racing sport bikes for years. Got the GW a few months back and have been putting some miles on her randomly. Yesterday, "she who must be obeyed" and I went for our first voyage, albeit a short one (100 miles) - we'll be going an a 1500+ miles trip starting next weekend (9-day voyage).

During the ride yesterday through the backroads, I noticed the front end washing out / feeling very light. I wasn't confident in the corner grip at all as it would slide very easily. My question is - what tire pressure is best on these (have OEM tires / suspension)? Also, what pre-load do you run and why? I tried (17 I think) and maxed out and it didn't seem to make much difference. thanks for your feedback! BWK

·
Registered
2,818 Posts
Your probably going to get alot of opinions on the pressure depending on which tire you are running on the front. I am running the 709G with 38 pounds. The shop said to run 41 pounds in it but I didn't like the ride with that much pressure in it. Congrats on your Wing and welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
2,731 Posts
I noticed the same issue. Installed a SuperBrace, and the problem was solved. I also had progressive springs installed in the front at the same time. I suspect that the SuperBrace, or some other fork brace will solve your issue. Might want to try borrowing a bike that has one installed and see if the problem can be duplicated on that bike.

·
Misinformed Member
2,272 Posts
For what it's worth I have a Stone 709 at 36 lbs. and Traxion suspension. I have never felt that but I don't tend to push it real hard.

·
Registered
11,183 Posts