GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this web page as a writer, however I read the postings almost everyday. I have a 92 Teal 1500 CSC conversion that I will be selling along with my trailer come this Spring. I recently purchased a 2002 Yellow 1800 that will be triked in January of 07. My question for you readers out there is, "What tire do you recommend for the 1800 after I trike it?" For the 1500 I used the Michelin M50, but I'm not so sure as to what I should use for the front tire for my 1800 to get the best performance and milage.

·
Registered
792 Posts
I just had a Michelin pilot activ mounted yesterday, but I would think your going to get as many answer as there are tires. It's going on a trike so go with what your happy with.

B

·
0 Posts
When I triked, they put on a Metzeler ME880. Great tire for smoothness and handling. It lasted 7000 miles.

I talked to the Michelin reps at the Honda Hoot in June. They said they do not have a "trike" tire, but for the GL1800, they recommend their Pilot Activ rear tire mounted on the front in reverse rotation direction. I had been told about this by many of the folks on this forum but hearing directly from Michelin I got one. I now have 6000 miles on it and it looks like new. I do have a slight "buzz" I can feel in the bars and hear from the plastic front fender between 26-32 mph, but it is just a buzz not a wobble or shimmy.

From all reports, I expect to get 20,000 or more miles on this tire. Unless the buzz gets worse. And even then I'll get anothe Activ since it costs less than the Metz.

·
Registered
2,582 Posts
I turned 10,000 on my Michelin Pilot Activ, reverse rotation last week. It still looks like new...I run 41# in front and 24# rear on my Goodrich 235R 70 15 tires...which I doubt I will ever wear out....

I

·
0 Posts
Michelin Pilot Activ. Same size as your stock tire. 130/70/18