GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
361 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:bow:
I just picked up my 2012 wing. I have been riding HD Roadglides for the past eleven years and was immediately impressed with the difference in ride and handling.

Oh yea, my question: I'm so used to pouring high octane fuel into the V-Twin that I find it hard to believe that these bikes aren't hungry for a higer octane than the 86 that the manual recommends.

Does anybody run high(er) octane, or is the 86 octane fuel going to get it done?
Thanks.
bbc

·
Registered
7,872 Posts
just regular gas

Just use regular gas. The Wing is a low compression, liquid cooled beast that runs just fine on the regular fuel per the owners manual. Running the higher octane fuel just puts a strain on your wallet.

There's other threads regarding this, the general consensus from a whole lot of others is no problems noted with the regular fuel.

Go forth, save your money by buying the regular grade gas so you'll have more money to buy more gas that you will be using putting the mileage on your wing.

And welcome to the world of the wing!

·
Registered
137 Posts
I put the least expensive 86 octane (Arco, Safeway, 7-11, Costco) that I can find in my 2010 and it works just fine. I've never had a problem.

Bill

·
Registered
275 Posts
:bow:
I just picked up my 2012 wing. I have been riding HD Roadglides for the past eleven years and was immediately impressed with the difference in ride and handling.

Oh yea, my question: I'm so used to pouring high octane fuel into the V-Twin that I find it hard to believe that these bikes aren't hungry for a higer octane than the 86 that the manual recommends.

Does anybody run high(er) octane, or is the 86 octane fuel going to get it done?
Thanks.
bbc
I run Non ethonal rather it be premium or 89 octane. Not going to support the rippoff ethonal industry.

Tim

·