GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How well does the SP 2610 touch screen work in the winter when you're wearing gloves??

Just wondering??

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Shooter,
I was wondering the same thing. The Garmin site says it will work in the rain, but doesn't mention cold. OK, it does give the operating temp range, but I will be interested to see feedback from folks actually using it.

·
Registered
146 Posts
I have been using my 2610 for a few months now, but yesterday was my first time with heavy gloves. Light gloves are really no problem (I usually just press with the natural fold in the leather at the end of the finger - like a pointer!). The heavy gloves proved a little more challenging. I was able to do all necessary things (changing zoom, dragging the map to see what's ahead, etc.) but sometimes I had to hit it a couple of times to get the right button. Small things, like entering names or "X"ing out of difference screens, I could not do. These are things usually done sitting still anyway. If I had to wear heavy gloves all that often, I would probably glue a small "nub" on the end of one of the fingers to use as a pointer. Overall, I have no complaints about using gloves with the touch screen.

·
Registered
1,056 Posts
What if you cut the end of an old pool cue.
Use that as a pointer and keep it on the bike somewhere?
Just a thought.

·
Registered
757 Posts
I dont have a problem with the touch screen if I'm using my summer gloves.

With my heavy winter gloves I can still use the buttons on the side of the unit or change the screen image using the touch screen. However, I cant use the " find an address" option with the heavy gloves, as I'm always selecting the wrong letter or number. To elevate this problem, I carry a pencil with an eraser on it & use it to select a number or letter.

·
Registered
73 Posts