GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last weekend while out on a ride our group pulled of to the side of the road. After down shifting some strange things happened on my 2006 GL1800. First the Reverse Light came on and started blinking. Pushing the Reverse button would not reset the light. Second was that the Neutral light would not come on even though I was in neutral. Third once I started riding again the cruise control would not set. The scary part was the thought of an error that would cause a safety issue. I stopped, turned off the ignition and then back on. Everything went back to normal but I closely watched for more oddities as I rode the rest of the day. Fortunately everything worked as expected. Anyone else have this kind of problem?

·
Registered
1,004 Posts
Was it raining? Damp day? Just wash the bike? I washed my bike once with wife and she sprayed the hell out of it. It acted like that for my next ride but fixed itself after a ten mile jaunt and turning it off and back on. never came back.

·
Registered
2,556 Posts
I've had problems with my reverse not kicking in. Seems lack of use was the problem. I now use it every day to back out of the garage. Haven't had any more problems.

·
Registered
2,628 Posts
Fred H. said:
Remove the RIGHT chrome cover over the oil filler and pull the rubber boot off this wire and make sure the nut is tight.

If this wire is loose it will cause the reverse light to blink and other problems as well, including a no-start situation.

Fred must've been thinking about the Wing he was riding 'down under'. I changed it to the right side. Good tip, Fred.

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Computer Error

Fred: