GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
382 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Another subject beat to death but I am new to the Wing. I have heard pro's and con's to fork braces being effective to HELP (not elliminate) front end wobble at slower speeds. I have good Metzlers on the bike but scared myself the other day when I took my hands off the bars at about 30mph, just to see how stable it was. NOT I won't do that again until I get some answers. I have read some articles on this board and others. I have heard yes and no to the fork braces.
Could you all indulge me and just be patient with me. I will learn as much as the good people on the Board and hopefully be able to help others with answers I have learned.
Thanks and God Bless.
Ray (Msgt):bow:

·
Registered
29 Posts
I had the same wobble as you did. I changed to the All Balls steering head bearings & also upgraded the front suspension to Traxxion. Now no wobble whatsoever.

·
Registered
16,616 Posts
Fork braces are not typically an effective appliance for reducing the decel wobbles. If fitted properly, they are generally recognized as being effective in improving stabilty and ride quality, especially at slower speeds. More resistive fork bearings are generally touted as the best simple remedy to reduce perception of the decel wobbles. I do not recall having any unusual degree of wobble when I used Metzeler tires, but others often cite Metzelers as a major factor in their wobble experiences.

prs

·
Registered
179 Posts
1800 wobble

I have a 08 wing and it had the wobble from day one. I took it back to the dealer and they checked the front tire. It was defective. They replaced the tire and it has not wobbled since. :lol: Your tire might have a crooked belt, like mine, or broken belt. Like you said it is a well beaten subject on the new bikes with the D250 tires. Most of the time if the tire is new and wobbling the front it is a defective tire. :eek:4:

·
Registered
581 Posts