GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,988 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need some insight here. I have an '05 1800 with 5000 miles on it. I am experiencing a pronounced, high frequency vibration, similar to that of some older inline 4 cylinder engines--like on a Kawasaki Concours, when the engine is under a load such as during acceleration while going up a hill, starting at around 60 mph. This seems to be around 2700 rpm and up. I can feel it through the grips, footpegs and seat. Bascially, throughout the bike. It's strong enough that it makes my hands start to go numb. No, I don't have the bar end weights on because I installed the Kuryakyn Erg hand grips. Does anyone have any ideas what might cause this and has anyone else experienced this same thing? I'm thinking the logical place to check is the motor mounts in case they aren't correctly torqued. But I'm no mechanic. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
5,936 Posts
The bar end weights are / were there for a purpose. They help to eliminate vibration transmitted to your hands. If you alter the motorcylce and put on non standard equipment like the new grips and eliminate a functional part of the motorcylce like the bar end weights, you may experience some difference in performance.

Best advice is to take the Kury grips off and reinstall the bar end weights and see if that make a difference. Then you can go from there. If no difference, then look for other causes. If it makes a difference you have decide whether you want to the new grips or the vibration.

·
Vendor
21,574 Posts
I think I would agree with the above advice. Put the weights back on first and see what happens.