GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, just wanted your opinion on these bikes. I have been riding sportbikes for a few years now and am ready for some touring action with the girlfriend. I test rode an 05 K1200LT and was not impressed. I felt like I was riding a giant scooter, although it was cush at Highway speeds. How do these two bikes compare, pros and cons? I am absolutely in love with the Goldwing but coming from a sportbike backround im not sure if I should step up to the GW or over to an FJR1300 or ST1300. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
488 Posts
I stepped up to the Wing from a little ol' ZX-12R and love the Wing. I kept my 12 too. I ride the Wing to work daily. I can carry my briefcase, lunch/snacks, etc. I demo'd a '02 K1200LT and didn't like the lack of power/torque or its price tag. The Wing handles pretty good and has decent power/torque.

·
Registered
931 Posts
You can do a search and fine details as this topic surfaces every 3-4months.

For me, the easiest way to do the comparo is ride both with your passenger. They are both great long distance comfort bikes. After the ride, you will know which one to keep.

The biggest downside to the LT is service cost if you do not do your own work. Example: BMW needs every 12k mile a valve check and shim change. Can run $1000. The Wing needs the valves checked at 32K and they are most likely ok and not extra charge for the shim changes most of the time.

It is also harder to find a BMW dealer.

·
Registered
121 Posts
I had an 05 FJR1300 and then stepped way up to the Gl1800 as far as touring is concerned. Yes the FJR is faster and handles the twistees a little better but for real long distance touring you can't beat the wing. I sat on the beemer and it was way too tall for me and the price was much higher and their service has a lot to be desired. Go with the wing you won't be disappointed.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Gthe wing