GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey ia there anyone out there that has had to replace their battery in their GL 1800 two years in a row? Mine is in storage over the winter and goes bad after sitting there for 3 mos. I have been riding a long time and I have never charged a battery in my life, and have rarely had a problem. Now I've talked to people who have done the same and others that do charge theirs, Now as you know the book says to charge it once a month. My01 needed one last year and again this one. Could somebody out there please set me straight!

G

·
I've had motorcycles since I was 16, my gl1800 is my 5th bike. I use a Sears battery maintainer...it's automatic and I've NEVER replaced a battery under 5 years old

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
I've been riding for 40 years and I've found out that when I bought and started using a Battery Tender, I was buying a lot fewer batteries. One more tip, most batteries need to be charged before they are installed in the bike, if that step is skipped, the battery is handicapped from day 1.

From Yuasa Battery FAQs

Q: Why should you charge your battery once a month?

A: When not in use, a battery discharges on a daily basis sometimes up to 0.5-1%. This rate of discharge increases when the climate is warm. To make up for this loss from disuse, a boosting charge should be given once a month.

Q: What can cause a new battery to fail soon after installation?

A: If a new battery becomes unserviceable within a few days or weeks after its installation it may be due one or more of the following reasons:

1. A faulty charging system.

2. A short circuit in the electrical system.

3. Battery terminals are dirty or not properly connected.

4. Excessive ignition off drains or high parasitic drains.

5. Electrical capacity of the battery is insufficient for size of the vehicle.

6. The battery has been inadequately activated, dissipating its strength from the outset.