GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
is there anyone out there that there 1 st motorcycle was a goldwing? and have only owned goldwings?
my frist bike was a honda 50 . and i have worked my way up the ladder to a gl1800. i have compared it to other bikes . and to to me it is the best so far. i have talked to one person who almost did it/ he bought a valk. rode it for one year . traded it in on a goldwing. the frist and all the rest were goldwings.
is there anyone out there that is the ultimate gw rider *1

·
Registered
2,169 Posts
I started riding before Honda produced the Goldwing so my first bike was a Triumph 650 Bonneville. From that I went to a 1975 GL1000 Goldwing. It had a straight seat, no windshield, no fairing, no bags and no trunk. It was just a motorcycle but the biggest bike around at the time. It was actually 999cc's. Ever since then I've had Goldwings and I've owned at least one of every model through the years.

·
Registered
2,211 Posts
My first bike - 2004 Titanium. After the first year of riding it I posted this:
http://www.gl1800riders.com/forums/view ... hp?t=34449

It's now been about 2 years, 2 months. Just approaching 26,000 incredible smile filled miles. I love this machine!

Getting ready for a major winter maintenence project... as soon as the snow forces me to. Here's what's planned so far.

1. Remove and replace windshield tape with teflon tape
2. Remove gas tank and tighten all coolant hoses
3. Top off rear pre-load adjuster
4. Adjust cruise control.
5. Replace air filter
6. Install All Balls steering bearings
7. Install Progressive front fork springs
8. Replace fork seals, bushings, and oil
9. Rebuild Anti-dive unit
10.Replace brake fluid

8)

·
Registered
152 Posts
1st ride

I started riding at 65 years. My 1st bike was a 1990 goldwing. I took my time, MSF, ERCs, etc and practice a lot. I sold that & bought a used '03 GL1800 in late '03!