GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Resident BBQ Expert
13,862 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i need some info on a gps purchase.

i want a hand held unit so i can move it between my two bikes and my car. i dont want to mortgage the house for one, so i want a reasonable one that works well.

i also see all these extra cds that are avaible for magellan. i plan only to go in the us. i just want to find my way in cities ,country roads,and parks. any suggestions on which software would fit that need.

also does anyone have a preowned or copied magellan software cds for sale.

thanks loren

·
Registered
1,118 Posts
I am no expert, but it sounds like maybe a Garmin III+ or E-Map might do for you. I have the III+ and now the Street Pilot III. The III+ and the E-Map both have the basic highway system and are small enough to carry with you hiking or boating. Even if you are out in the woods, just let it leave a cookie trail and if you get lost you can find your way back to where you started.
Here is some links for more info:

GPS Information, Mehaffey & Yeazel, about all the GPS info you need
http://gpsinformation.net/

TVNAV GPS Solutions more info, and they sell them
http://www.tvnav.com/index.html

Cyco Active more info, mounts, and ideals
http://www.cycoactive.com/

SMC mounting solutions
http://www.smc-corp.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=SFNT&Store_Code=S

Garmin GPS The Garmin web site
http://www.garmin.com/

Good Luck

·
Registered
35 Posts
Garmin V