GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding Harley Road Glides since 2006. The support from the Harley service is getting worse and worse to the point I'm just fed up with it. I could do my own wrenching but I'm just getting tired of the amount of down time due to poor design. I've had an extended service plan on my current Road Glide but with 85K on the 4 year old bike, the Harley folks decided to cancel the ESP because I have a car tire on the bike. If it wasn't the car tire, it might have to be the windshield, or the fog lights or maybe even the Corbin solo seat I put on it. No mods to the engine or drive train.
I put a lot of miles on a Honda 750 back in the 70s then got a good trade deal for a GL1000. Had that for some time but didn't like the constant need to fiddle with the 4 carburetors. From there, went down the Harley path.
I'm pretty sure I'll be getting into a touring Goldwing within the next couple weeks. Just want to see what its about now and if I'm just jumping from one problem to another.

·
Premium Member
1,292 Posts
Welcome from SE Idaho!!! You'll likely go into shock with the differences concerning maintenance. With the Goldwing, keep up on fluid changes and follow the owners manual maintenance schedule for inspections. Instead of spending the week working on your bike for a weekend ride, you spend Monday cleaning the Wing from all the riding you've done all week.....or not, as you may be riding on Monday as well. Since you run a CT now, you may want to check out the Darkside sub forum here. Lots of good information about what works on the back of the Wing. Ride safe and keep the shiny side up. :)

·
Registered
535 Posts
Welcome. Where are you from?

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yeah, I had a 1980 GL1000. Kinda liked it but had to fiddle with the carbs to much.