GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I am a newbie to Goldwings. Formally riding a Honda PC800 but got the new wing July 31, a 2007 with ABS.

I know it is hot outside, today it was 107 here in Austin so that may be the overall issue.... but.. I took a ride around the block to the HEB and was wearing shorts and closed toe sandles. ( I know, not all the gear :wrong:)

I almost burnt my feet and legs. It was very hot. The wife has complained of a lot of heat on her legs and feet as well.

Is there a fix for this? I made sure the vents were closed etc. I want to ride with shorts under my mesh pants but it may not be possible? Jeans and boots protect me from the burn.....

I love the bike and am not complaining, just looking for solutions. I know, I'll be complaining that it is too cold in the winter......

Thanks

·
Registered
927 Posts
Solutions.

Mesh riding gear. You say you have the pants so you must know that it's cooler than bare skin because it keeps the sun off. I have FirstGear Mesh-Tex, there are many others. Bare skin will never be comfortable in really hot sunny weather. Even with...

Baker Air Wings. Both the standard dual wings, and the mirror wings are recommended. They'll also keep you warmer in cold weather.

Feet are another issue, but bare skin won't work there either. Same with hands, there are mesh gloves.

·
Registered
625 Posts
Gear

Well I should not say anything I guess. I will say however that when your bare legs and feet and arms hit the pavement which is probably over 150 degrees at the least you will know what you should have been wearing in the first place. :shrug:

·
GL1800 Doctor
20,466 Posts
I ride alot in town and it is very hot without good air movement. Your options are to ride with more clothing in town where speeds don't allow enough air or get out of the slow traffic and get some air circulating. :shrug:

·
Registered
999 Posts