GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Local Chicago area dealer quoted $900 for tires, brakes, fluids, parts and labor. Not sure that I can swallow all of this at once.

I'll admit that I am a rookie. I have the service manual, Fred's video, some tools, and a lot of inexperience. Also an interest in learning what I can do on my own and what is best left to the experts.

Anyone in the Northern Illinois area available for some hands on instruction? I am sure that we can reach some sort of agreement.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or comments.

·
Registered
4,373 Posts
Do you guys have a dealership with a name like "Honda of Chcago" or something similiar? If so, how's their reputation? The sister dealership is where I bought mine, but the service dept. is useless, or non-existent. The price they quoted me was $300.00 for a front mounted and balanced. I did pay $52.00 for an oil change while on the road. Don't know how these compare to your quote, but both seemed a tad high to me.

·
Registered
139 Posts
Re: Help with Brakes, Fluid, Tires, etc. change - Chicago ar

Freeloader said:
My Local Chicago area dealer quoted $900 for tires, brakes, fluids, parts and labor. Not sure that I can swallow all of this at once.

I'll admit that I am a rookie. I have the service manual, Fred's video, some tools, and a lot of inexperience. Also an interest in learning what I can do on my own and what is best left to the experts.

Anyone in the Northern Illinois area available for some hands on instruction? I am sure that we can reach some sort of agreement.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or comments.
I see you are looking for help to do it yourself, but in case that does not pan out, you might want to check pricing at Des Plaines Honda in Des Plaines, Illinois. I am not sure about price but I don't think I paid anything close to $900 for my last service and new tires.

Mike

·
Registered
1,938 Posts