GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
changed my 2018 goldwing tour dct oil and oil filter and clutch filter and rear end oil yesterday for first time with just under 4000 miles.read service manual and watched fred harmon video but after putting in 4.9 qt the dipstick read about half way between full and add. so took it off the center stand thinking that may have affected it but no change and this was after ruuning a few minutes and with engine off 10 min.then i rode it about 5 miles and checked it again after adding the 95 ml i did not put in at first to make it 5 qts total and after riding 5 miles the dipstick is on add?i did ADD THE OIL TO OIL FILTER BEFORE PUTTING NEW OIL FILTER ON as he did in video and only diff was i added dimple magnetic drain plugs to the 3 drain plugs i removed. any suggestions?adding the oil to the filter first (which i have never done before) should not affect the dipstick reading ?\

·
Registered
471 Posts
changed my 2018 goldwing tour dct oil and oil filter and clutch filter and rear end oil yesterday for first time with just under 4000 miles.read service manual and watched fred harmon video but after putting in 4.9 qt the dipstick read about half way between full and add. so took it off the center stand thinking that may have affected it but no change and this was after ruuning a few minutes and with engine off 10 min.then i rode it about 5 miles and checked it again after adding the 95 ml i did not put in at first to make it 5 qts total and after riding 5 miles the dipstick is on add?i did ADD THE OIL TO OIL FILTER BEFORE PUTTING NEW OIL FILTER ON as he did in video and only diff was i added dimple magnetic drain plugs to the 3 drain plugs i removed. any suggestions?adding the oil to the filter first (which i have never done before) should not affect the dipstick reading ?\

Do not wait 10 minutes to check oil. The dipstick is NOT at the bottom of the pan like a Chevy motor.