GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Heya,

How's everyone doing? I thought I would post an introductory message. I have been putzing around reading the forums for a few months and thought I should probably actually say something. I have a 2013 Wing and like it quite a bit. It replaced a 2009 Nomad 1700 that I had. I also have a 2007 shadow 750 that I have kept hold of. I ride about 15,000 miles a year, so not alot, but not too bad. I assume I will ride quite a bit more this year.

I decided after the wife and I rode out to Deadwood/sturgis/wyoming on our big trip this year that I was done with the nomad and needed something bigger and more comfy. I decided on the way back when I was on the pig trail in Arkansas that it was time to break down and by a wing. Of course the first week I had my brand new wing I got rear ended with less than a thousand miles on it. Nothing I could do, I saw it coming. I could either get t-boned by a car doing 70, fall off a cliff and drop 4 stories (atleast), or get as far over as possible and brace for impact. I did the last. That is an entirely different story though.. :D Few months later and the wing is back good as new and I have dumped about 6-7k miles on it in the past few months.

I like doing all kinds of riding from endurance to sight seeing. I have a trip planned to ride out to san antonio in the next few weeks and plan on hitting the three twisted sisters while I am out there. I also have a big trip planned (18 days) out to the grand canyon, vegas, death valley, tombstone, sedona, roswell, devils highway, route 66, blah blah and a ton of other things planned for late May.

I am about to purchase a bushtec trailer, thinking about getting the quantum gl new painted to match the bike. If anybody thinks I should be looking elsewhere for trailers around the same price point please let me know.