GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
848 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2008 NAV/ABS with about 16,700 miles. I am still very new to Wings (one month). Today while riding mainly interstates my bike developed a new high pitched whine. It is in response to throttle revs. As I turn the throttle the whine gets higher pitched and louder. It does this while rolling or on the center stand in neutral. Other then the whine the bike appears to be responding normally. Acceleration is fine, clutch feels the same, engine temp is in the normal spot, etc. When I let go of the throttle and the engine is winding down there are very small pops or crackles. The exhaust is clear no smoke or viewable particulates. I have not added any new mods or accessories to the bike. I did increase the octane to 89 the last two tanks of gas. The gauge now is at 1/4. Anyone have any ideas of what might be going on?

·
Registered
24,624 Posts
I think just to know, test the battery both static and under load at about 2000 rpm.

What are the results.

See the pop and sputter kinda indicates the charging system. When an alternator starts to go on the blink the bike will spit and sputter at slow speeds. Be fine at higher speeds .

So test the alternator also.

Just to get started. A starting point.

·
GL1800 Doctor
20,207 Posts
I think just to know, test the battery both static and under load at about 2000 rpm.

What are the results.

See the pop and sputter kinda indicates the charging system. When an alternator starts to go on the blink the bike will spit and sputter at slow speeds. Be fine at higher speeds .

So test the alternator also.

Just to get started. A starting point.
:agree: Alternator could be going south.

·
Registered
2,098 Posts
Is the whine from the engine or alternator ???