GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
847 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Goldwing returning to riding after a 25 year lay off. 10 days ago I bought an ’08 1800 ABS with 15,000 mile on her. I am wearing a Shark Evoline 2 helmet. I have Centramatic Wheel Balancers. I have Cobra Avalon’s front and back and they seem pretty new.

On the freeway once I get up about 65 or 70 the bike gets very rough as if I am being buffeted by wind from every direction. Nothing smooth at all. Not really a wobble but instead it is as if my front wheel is not running in line with the back. And as if it is skipping at times as if it is way over inflated (but it is not). I have tried lowering the windshield all the way down and then doing the opposite, putting it all the way up. I have put my face bar all the way back to reduce wind under the chin and I have driven with the bar and face shield all the way down. Nothing I have tried works. Instead no matter what I do once I hit about 65 – 70 it is as if I am in a big truck convoy or riding to Palm Springs but as if the wind is coming hard from every direction. Today on a toll road where I was by myself, not another car or truck could be seen and the pavement was brand new I had to slow down because I thought I was going to loss control.

Any advice?

Thanks in advance,

gary

·
Registered
3,341 Posts
Open your vent 1 click. It sounds goofy, but helps. If you don't have them invest in a pair of Baker wings. If only the mirror wings, it will help too.

If you have the funds, a V-Stream or Wind Bender windshild help out a ton. It doesn't hurt to start small though and the wings will be of benifit even if you opt for a new shield in the future.

Without riding it, it sounds like there could be other problems. I wonder if the buffeting is causing a false perception.

Best Wishes And Welcome to the Madd House.

·
Registered
1,915 Posts