GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,088 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Goldwings, having purchased a Dark Orange Metalic 07 six weeks ago. My wife and I went to the Smokies last weekend for a couple of days, and it was frustrating trying to communicate without headsets. The local Honda dealership has Hondaline headsets for a decent price, and I understand that these are made by J&M. Does anyone have any experience with these? Is the sound quality as good as J&M Elites or would I be better off going with the real thing.

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
Welcome to the board Allen...

I've used the Honda Line headsets for only a couple hours (tried a friend's set) to compare them with the ChatterBox set.

For me, I did not notice any real difference in either music or voice quality...others may have had better luck.

I stayed with the ChatterBox (they're about half the price of the Honda sets).

Both can be purchase through the sponsor of this board.

Good luck!

·
Registered
254 Posts
headsets

I have the same set of hondaline headsets and cables on my 01 GL 1800 that I used on my GL 1500. I traded up for the GL 1800 and just pulled the cables and gear and put them in the new helmets. The sound quality is fair and they are pretty easy to install. I am hoping, however that the fat, jolly, bearded guy stops by the house this year with some updates for the bike. :D

·
Registered
12,417 Posts
Headset voice/sound quality is not the headset alone.

Many factors play here. Helmet fit, proximity of the helmet speaker to the ear(install). Ans of course the quality of the speaker itself.

The Hondaline set up is indeed a J&M work up. However it is not comprised of the best J&M speakers.

J&M currently has the ECD 584 as their premium headset and the CPS477-A05 for the intergrated Arai helmets.

Airrider has the Comm-4 as their premium set up.