GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
557 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Like many on this forum, I (originally) had a real beef with the horn button on this bike...it is the exact same size, shape and texture as the Siri button that lives above it. At first glance/experience, it is not intuitively easy to find, leading many, myself included originally, to think one had to look for the button to find it....

Then I started playing a little bit and discovered...

IF you take a couple of minutes and just sit on the bike with your left hand on the grip, your left thumb when brought up will (almost by magic) find that horn button, without looking, EVERY time. Just take a few minutes to give yourself some 'muscle memory' action with your left thumb, and I think you'll find like I have, that you just naturally find this button every time. It is in a spot that I'm sure some Honda engineer determined is the ergonomically correct place to put this button.

Practice a few times. Cabinet bumper, different type switch, is just not required. You'll find it naturally with just a little practice moving that thumb up. Up, down, up, down, up, down....and boom, your thumb will be finding the horn switch every time without looking.

Give it a try!

·
Registered
2018 Honda Gold Wing
7,531 Posts
A few minutes to train yourself to hit the button without look looking..LOL..it took me months of riding this bike and making the effort to train myself to be able to hit the horn button in a split second without looking at...but now it feel natural to me.

·
Premium Member
3,258 Posts
Tried that. Doesn't help me. To have muscle memory, I'd have to have muscle. Muscle left back in spring of 2016.

·
Registered
573 Posts