GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Now, let me pre-face this by saying that I'm not a motorcycle mechanic (or any other kind of mechanic for that matter :roll:), but I can do some basic things like attach highway pegs, change oil, etc.

So, I just bought the EC IPod connector for the CD plugin and the OEM CB radio and antenna. Since they both install into the trunk, I thought it might be best to do them both at once. My question is "Are these "do-able" installs for the averge backyard klutze like me" or should I be taking it down to the local dealer to get these installed?

I saw one thread where the guy was talking about 5 hours for just the CB install. Is that correct? I mean do I really have to take half the bike apart to plug in a CB to a pre-existing harness? :wrong: His had the airbag and mine doesn't, but it does have Nav and ABS so they may complicate it.

Guys. excuse me if this question has been asked before, but I couldn't find a thread on it other than the aforementioned air bag install.

Thanks for any advice.

·
Registered
8,038 Posts
The top shelter has to come off on all models :!: so that in itself, if you haven't ever had it off, that alone is good for at least 2.5 good hours :shock: Be sure to mark where all of the screws come from.

·
Registered
1,871 Posts
I can only answer for the '02 Wing so far ... since it's too darned cold to mess with the pastic for the '09 install ... but yeah ... you do have to yank half the bike apart. For some reason, the conventional wisdom was to put the CB connector close to the actual radio ... so you have to get under the "top shelter" (the plastic over the gas tank and radio) in order to make the main connection, AND connect in the noise filters that Honda provides. I remember 2 for sure, but I vaguely remember having to also remove the left pocket and install a filter there as well.