GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3,301 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m brand new to the world of GPS, and I’m not sure how to interpret the data from my new Zumo 595. This last weekend I went on a ride with 3 Eagles to San Antonio and back to visit Tom Finch. Just before I left to meet up with 3 Eagles I found a screen that would summarize my trip data. I zeroed the data, and left on my ride. That was at 6:45 AM on 8/9/19. I returned home at 4:30 PM on 8/11/19. So, my actual trip lasted almost 58 hours. From the time when I started until now has been about 77 hours.

I just went to the garage to clean my bike and decided to check the trip data. I took a picture of the screen, and that immediately raised some questions.

How does the GPS calculate the “Stopped”. time? I had figured that the GPS wouldn’t know the ride was over until I reset and zeroed the screen. However, the GPS shows a total time of 19 hr, 10 minutes, with a stopped time of 1 hr, 29 minutes. For the time that we were actually riding, and just stopping for gas that is just about spot on.

However, it doesn’t seem to account for time we spent at the motel after got to San Antonio, or the time at the celebration on Saturday.

Can you help me interpret the data?

Attachments

·
Registered
8,815 Posts
The GPS was turned off completely during those two times you mentioned.

With the GPS turned on, it was collecting your elapsed ride time - including 1.5 hours of stop time (fuel?)

·
Registered
3,301 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
OK Ken, I guess that makes sense. It is wired into a keyed switch on the bike, and shuts down shortly after I turn off the key. Perhaps it keeps running internally for a few minutes even after I turn off the bike, so would record the stopped time at the fuel pump but would shut down when stopped at the motel.

I'll start using this screen and learn how to use the data now that you've pointed me in the right direction.

Glen

·
Registered
2,678 Posts