GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4,439 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
weather they feel it is still safe to pull there trailers with cracked frames showing up. What is there take on this. Should we avoid pulling a trailer until this thing gets cleared up? Does my Bushtec trailer hitch cause a problem with the frame? Does my Zephyer trailer cause any problems. John, what do you suggest we do?

·
Registered
343 Posts
Now we are into a gray area. Is a 165 pound trailer as prone to cause a problem as a 500 pound camper? And given any weight or type trailer is there more of a chance of the frame damage with 2- 145 pounders on the bike, or 2-255 pound riders? Is the problem more likely to happen with this or that type hitch?
This could turn into a real cluster %#@$ real quick!

·
Registered
700 Posts
I have been towing or involved in towing a trailer since 1979. I have towed with a GL1100, GL1200, GL1500, GL1800, ST1100, PC800 and numerous other makes and models of motorcycles, more than a million miles. I have never had a frame crack or brake. To my knowledge the only motorcycle to exhibit any pattern of frame failure is the GL1800. The GL1800 frame issues are new ground for Honda and Honda owners. Honda is going to move very cautiously to determine the root cause, as would any good company. That means owners may not feel "loved" however Honda has and continues to resolve frame related issues on an individual basis. To date no frame failures have been declined due to a trailer hitch or towing. In my twenty-five years in this industry I have no knowledge of any towing related warranty being declined, by Honda or any other manufacturer.

Based on the inspection data generated by Fred H., there is no common denominator to the new frame cracks. Cracks have shown on bikes with no hitch, on bikes with a hitch but not used for towing and on bikes that tow.