GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Goldwings, got my first bike in 2009 which was a 1500. Rode it up to May of this year and sold it for my 1800. I had Bridgestones on my 1500 then went to E3's, kinda of like the stones better for the ride. Now I got my 1800 which was used from a dealer and they could not tell me nothing about the age of the tires. When I picked it up it had Bridgestones 60 series on it and again I didn't have any problems with them. I live in the Desert in SE California near the Arizona border and our temps get up into the 115 to 120 in the summer. I have to ride over 100 miles just for our chapter meetings and I get concerned about the heat on the tires to the point I just don't want to go out riding in the summer. Thought about replacing the tires, picked up a set of Bridgestones on sale had them shipped to me. Now after reading about some of the tire blow outs with Bridgestones and they think it may be heat related has got me really spooked!! Would really like to try a CT but I'm concerned about the handling, how much does it change the way the bike tracks and turns. One guy in our chapter said he tried a car tire and didn't like the way it felt when turning, I guess he described it as it jerked over suddenly on him and he didn't like that. Now I got to worry about someone changing my tire and tearing the bead and not knowing it and now it will blow out sometime down the road while I'm doing 75mph. I'm 48 years old and really wasn't planning to go out this way! Can someone enlighten me!

Thanks!
Bill...

·
Registered
11,183 Posts
Bill,

IMO, the safest tire you will find will be one of the run-flat designs (i.e., Pirelli [email protected] or the Kumho ECSTA (KU31). The primary reason I say this is because a run-flat allows one to ride the bike with no air in the tire. In the event of a blowout, you should not have any trouble bringing the bike to a stop without issue.