GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last Friday my Wife and I was on a trip to Oklahoma on our 2018 DCT Tour when we ran into a flood. We were about 30 miles from our hotel and rode into the heart of the storm. I looked for a place to stop and wait the storm out and there was none. I had looked at the weather map and knew this was a long term event. I hoped we could skirt the worst of it and slip into our room. No such luck. The bottom fell out on us.
I have been riding for 45 years and been in my share of rain storms. We were prepared for rain but not a biblical event. At first we were coming in behind a storm squall and the rain had slowed falling but there was standing water fairly deep. I pushed on as I felt we were not on high ground. I know better than to drive into deep moving water and this was fairly safe. Our Goldwing was not missing a lick and pushed through better than I could have hoped. Oh by the way I was pulling our trailer also. The second wave caught up with usand the bottom fell out. We were about 10 miles from the hotel at this point ona rural road. Water was coming out of the pastures across the road about 2inches deep. Still no problem other than all out rain coming down. I drove carefully and evaluated each and every move. There was a police car in front of us and I gaged the depth of the water by watching him.
As we came into town there was standing water a little deeper than I though. It was about peg deep but not moving. We were going about 5 miles an hour and drove right through it. The DCT never missed and handled the water better than I could have dreamed. We made it to the room a little damp and white knuckled from holding the grips so hard. It poured buckets of rain for the next 5 hours. Next morning cloudy, cool and just right for an all-dayride. The rest of the trip was great and we had a blast. This is one of those trips that will not soon be forgotten.