GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,830 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Took my Pirelli off since I am heading to the Rockies from Alabama this Friday. I was fairly happy with the Pirelli, it has 21,744 miles and measured 4/32nds in several places. From new the tire seemed to require a little more attention to run a straight line comparing it to the Kumho. This afternoon I laid the big bike over and took the Pirelli off and installed the new Michelin. Thanks to this forum telling me the best way to do this as well as doing it with Centramatics in there too. This all took about 20 minutes (Im no mechanic) from the time I laid it down until I picked it up and went for a test drive. I really like the way the Michelin rides, it takes no effort at all to make the curves and seems more like a motorcycle tire in handling (maybe Im just so used to car tires now). The most mileage I ever got from a Motorcycle rear tire was about 8,500 miles. Here are some pictures of the new Michelin and the old Pirelli.

Attachments

·
Registered
24,624 Posts
I can see the stripe in your old Pirelli.

Been curious about that Alpin. So one day when you have occassion to run grooved cement roads, would like to know how it acts.

·
Registered
1,830 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I can see the stripe in your old Pirelli.

Been curious about that Alpin. So one day when you have occassion to run grooved cement roads, would like to know how it acts.

It concerned me more that it is a winter tire and they make sure you know it when you order it. They post a note that you have to check telling you that it may not perform like a summer tire and you are not to mismatch them. I had some forum members that are running it in the heat and cant see any difference. During this 4500 mile trip I'll bet we will come upon some grooved concrete roads, Ill think of you Kit.

·
IronMan
17,808 Posts