GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my headsets and hooked into the intercom system on my 02 wing. If I turn the intercom volume up past 3 or 4, I get an annoying background noise. This noise is present even when the bike is stationary and is not a whining feedback like from a radio, etc. I can instantly get rid of the noise by either turning off the intercom or cutting the volume back down below 3-4. Is this noise normal? Is there a cure?

Also, I have turned the mute volume for the intercom up as high as possible, but when either I or my passenger talk over the intercom, the volume of the music from the radio does not decrease. I thought that this was the function of the mute volume feature.

My buddy just bought a 03 wing and we tried his headset and mine (different brands) on both bikes with the same results. Therefore, I don't think the problem is with the headsets.

I am new to the wing experience and not familiar with the intercom system or any possible faults. Any ideas or help is greatly appreciated. Everyone on this board is always a wealth of knowledge and information.

·
Registered
6,891 Posts
Ahh - the dreaded "Honda intercom system" question.

First of all, welcome to the board, and the wing! :D

Let me fill you in on a little bit of news: The audio system on this bike is sub-par, to say the least. (and that's being polite) :shock:

One of the biggest problems, I believe, lies in the poor design of the audio unit itself. For this, we have very little remedy, outside of replacing the intercom functions with a third-party system.

The low-level microphone input signal runs through the wiring harness to the audio unit, where it is amplified and sent through the intercom system, as well as the CB radio.