GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just realized that I have never introduced myself on this board.
I apologize.
I have been riding motorcycles for 38 years.
The vast majority of my riding has been on older Hondas that I owned, such as the 350, 500 and the 750.
I live in northern Ohio. Perfect motorcycle weather lasts about 5 months a year. There were 2 years in my youth that all I had for transportation was a motorcycle, and I rode it year round. Every day. (Pretty stupid huh?) But I had to get to school and then to work in order to make the payments on the bike. (You learn to use your legs as outriggers when driving in snow and ice).
Then I got married. (A good thing!)
We waited until 5 years after we wed to have children. During that time we traveled on our Hondas all over the country east of the Rocky Mountains.
"You do meet the nicest people on a Honda!"
In one 2 year period we wore out a Honda 750 by traveling over 100,000 miles on it, most of the time 2 up. Cleveland to Denver/Colorado Springs and back in 5 days with 2 days spent visiting my buddy at the Air Force Academy. The entire trip home was in the rain. Our wives on the back of our bikes wanted to take a Greyhound bus home but my buddy and I wouldn't hear of it. (We didn't have enough money left to buy the tickets anyways). 2 trips to Texas, 2 trips to southern Florida, (two up), and multiple weekend trips to West Virginia, Tennessee, Kentucky, Indiana, and Pennsylvania all 2 up. We had an old tarp that we would throw over the bike and make a lean-to type tent for sleeping. Woke up one morning and had silver dollar sized spiders crawling all over us. I hate spiders!
Do to a serious back injury and nerve damage, I must now have a heel-toe shifter. I cannot raise my toe to shift. (Foot drop) Needless to say, that slowed me way down on my riding.
I have never owned a true touring motorcycle.