GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I'm fairly new to the MP3 world but am considering the IPOD 8GB Nano for my new wing. I recentally installed the 12 volt cigarette adapter on the bike ( that turns on & off with the ignition) and hooked it up to the factory plug in the left pocket. My question is, if I buy the 12 volt adapter that is made for & plugs into the IPOD, will the IPOD's power go off with the bike or will the IPOD still stay on since it has an internal battery? I'm hoping that it will go off as I keep forgetting to turn off the battery operated MP3 player that I now use. Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
2,437 Posts
Wing777 said:
Hi all,
I'm fairly new to the MP3 world but am considering the IPOD 8GB Nano for my new wing. I recentally installed the 12 volt cigarette adapter on the bike ( that turns on & off with the ignition) and hooked it up to the factory plug in the left pocket. My question is, if I buy the 12 volt adapter that is made for & plugs into the IPOD, will the IPOD's power go off with the bike or will the IPOD still stay on since it has an internal battery? I'm hoping that it will go off as I keep forgetting to turn off the battery operated MP3 player that I now use. Thanks for any help!
The adapter made for the iPod by Electrical Connection will indeed stop the play on your iPod when the key is turned off. It will turn off a minute or so later. You'll also great sound through through that connector! You might want to get the GLI filter from EC while you're at it. This is the set-up I use, and I'm very happy with it!

·
Registered
206 Posts
I bought the 30 gig IPOD with Video and I just use the internal battery. I get 9 hours of use and that is plenty and if I run out I can switch over to the XM Radio which I will probably be using most of the time anyway unless I just want to listen to special songs that I like on my IPOD.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #4