GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is this normal for a goldwing. I have been trying to track down some mileage problems with my goldwing.

Attachments

·
Registered
249 Posts
Mine has a light grey coating nothing like that however.

·
Registered
410 Posts
Is this normal for a Goldwing

Is this normal for a goldwing. I have been trying to track down some mileage problems with my goldwing.
That much soot is not normal. that would indicate a rich mixture. I'm no expert on FI systems. I suspect it may be an O2 sensor that has failed. Good luck finding and fixing the problem. Kenneth

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
This is one of my tail pipes on my goldwing trike. I have 25K on the odometer and it is not getting better.

·
Registered
7,891 Posts
That much soot is not normal. that would indicate a rich mixture. I'm no expert on FI systems. I suspect it may be an O2 sensor that has failed. Good luck finding and fixing the problem. Kenneth

:agree: Check with a local garage, or even better if one of the local high schools have an auto shop class. Hook up an emissions analyzer to the exhaust, compare right and left side readings. That will give you a good starting point as to what to look at.

You did not mention the year and mileage, that would help also. Could be your O2 sensor, but right at the moment I'm leaning more towards the plugs. Pull them and inspect, let us know what you find. Also, when was the air filter last changed or checked?

·
Registered
235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I replaced the air filter with a K&N this last spring. The plugs are new also $11 each:eek:4:. It is a 2009 with 25000 miles.

·
Registered
669 Posts