GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5,243 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I am a tech idiot , I am asking the question here.

Any of you guys used a laptop as a GPS. Obviously this would be used in a RV or a large sized vehicle.

I have read a bit on the hardware & software needed.

In a motorhome the large screen would be nice if the resolution is good on the larger laptop screen.

:?

My 2610 works well for me on the 1800 & the cages, I saw this laptop GPS deal and I got interested in it.....LOL

·
Registered
206 Posts
I use a laptop with several maping programs in my 4x4. DeLorme Street Atlas, DeLorme Topo, Microsoft Streets & Trips, and perhaps most used is Ozie Explorer with scanned USGS and Green Trails maps. Also have Garmin mapsource for interface with the GPS.

Like any electronic device (including but not limited to cell phones, music players, etc.) use appropriate caution when trying to actually drive at the same time you are trying to use or observe a laptop map. I normally fold the cover closed, which turns off the display, unless I am stopped, or have someone else who can pay attention to the PC while I'm driving.

On the bike, I use my Garmin 276C with City Select.

Carl

·
Registered
2,577 Posts
I've tried a number of mapping/navigation/gps packages for the laptop, mostly several versions over the years of Microsoft Streets and Trips and DeLorme Street Atlas. While very nice and in some case more capable (like speech detection so you can give it commands), for the most part, they suffer when compared to a dedicated bit of electronics like the Garmins.

·
Registered
484 Posts
This works great and is brain dead simple to install and use.
http://www.garmin.com/products/gps18/
Inexpensive and you do not need a hot rod laptop to run it. As I recall, even Win98 version of microsoft windows will run it. Get the USB version as the serial port version is more of a pain in the ass and more expensive.