GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
436 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been riding for about twenty years pretty much a solo rider. I'm new to the Gold Wing owners group but I would like to know seriously what are the advantages or disadvantages of being affiliated with a mc club. :?:

I love to ride by myself and at times I love to ride in a group. If I could get some highlighted opinions on the pro's and con's of a mc club or staying solo I'd appreciate it.

Never the less I shall continue to ride because it is a passion for me! :blw1: :?:

·
Registered
759 Posts
I prefer solo...I gain too much weight at the local dairy queen if I ride in a group...... :a13:

·
Resident BBQ Expert
13,862 Posts
we dont belong to any clubs except the pacific coast and this group on the computer. my wife and i ride on our own schedule and no where in particular, haveing a great time shareing something.

we have ridden on some organised rides and she like them nuch more than i do . the couple i have been on turned into a race and chase event, i ride fir the fun of it, seeing some new areas and getting some fresh air. its not a road rally to me.

the best reason to be in a club is the social connections and the info exchange for tips and help. i look foward to getting to a few select rides this year.

there is a late summer one in indiana that runs the covered bridges area that i am looking foward to. just to be able to ride in an area we have never been before.

so yes both solo and groups can have finer points, maybe some of each to choose and pick would serve you better.

loren

·
Registered
9,099 Posts
As they say, different strokes for different folks.

I ride 50% of the time solo (usually with wife),
about 40% with one or two other bikes, and
less than 10% in a group. Organized groups
do not flip my switch at all, and you can spot
many members looking like a hot dog peddler at
a ball game, vests, patches, et al.