GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 152 Posts

·
Registered
1,590 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off the link:

https://www.msn.com/en-us/money/com...rcycle/ar-BBSJqej?li=BBnb7Kz&ocid=mailsignout

And now my thoughts...actually I bought my first "real" motorcycle (capable of maintaining at least the posted speed limit rather than a moped) in 1981 (the same year I graduated Hight School). I actually thought I was making a practical decision. I had a new vehicle for about $1K less than a cage of the era and if I needed a cage I could always borrow the parent's cage (1978 Ford LTD, there are battle tanks smaller than that). I was Southern California and there was 365 days a year that were rideable!

Things have certainly changed, or have they? Your thoughts?

·
Registered
2,027 Posts
Meh, HD needs to adapt or die.

Reactions: WY88

·
Registered
1,191 Posts
The first thought I had going to the article link was - the author/editor of that article was NOT engaging millennials with the photo choice. Millennials are not drawn to that rough look - they want their craft beers not a Miller High Life or Bud.

I mean think of the FRIENDLY photos Honda presented in the 60's of riders on their bikes. "Clean" cut "kids" riding on S90's looking more like college coeds than even the "hippies" of the day which stood out having VW buses.

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
It's the same message that has been around for years, just said in a different way, and more to the point. Harley has had very little going for it other than their ability to milk every last cent out of the nostalgia wave. If it wasn't for that, they would have been out of business years ago. The have virtually nothing to offer a buyer who is not into the intangible things like the image and mystique of a bygone era that today's younger riders can't relate to. Heck, I'm no spring chicken, and that era is even before my time.