GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 5 quart bottle of Mobile 1 Red Cap 15w-50 at Wal-Mart on sale of $19.76. Is this the correct synthetic oil to use? Says API SERVICE SL / CF. Just wanna be sure.

·
Young Buck
2,551 Posts
If you are wanting the Mobil 1 that everyone talks about...then yes, that would be it.

·
Registered
533 Posts
Sythetic, its the best

I've been using it for about 8 years and change my oil every 5K to 6K, mostly because I am obsessive.

Next warm day, I am changing to Rotella T Synthetic, because I am also cheap. I've heard nothing but good reports on both of these lubricants.

Oh, in addition to being cheap, I worry about the smallest details, like, the Rotella has ZERO friction modifiers, which no other auto oil can claim. That's a good thing.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Mobil Synthetic

Mobil makes two synthetic motor oils for 4 stroke engines. The SuperSyn MX4T 10W-40 and the V-Twin 20W-50. These are both engineered specifically for motorcycles and carry the API SG, SH/CF rating. The quart cap is black not red. The product you mentioned is an automotive oil. The debate goes on regarding using automotive oil in a motorcycle but most motorcycle manufacturers recommend using only API SG, SH rated oils.

Very soon, I plan to become a distributor for the MX4T and the V-Twin 20-50 products and plan to sell both products on line for those seeking a convenient way to purchase the Mobil product. More details soon on this.

·
Registered
4,214 Posts
Re: Mobil Synthetic

mobil said:
... The product you mentioned is an automotive oil. The debate goes on regarding using automotive oil in a motorcycle ...
As far as I'm concerned, my Wing has a car engine. Having just two wheels doesn't automatically make it a motorcycle engine. However, if I had a motorcycle with a typical air-cooled engine I would definately go with a "motorcycle oil."

As for my Wing, 15W-50 Mobil 1 works fine for me. :D