GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello folks,

New to the Goldwing...2 years in and absolutely loving this ride on a 2005. I have a question on replacing the stock exhaust with a radiant style from here...http://www.radiantcycles.com/. Im not even sure they do one for the Goldwing and have emailed them accordingly. I am no mechanic however i think understand some things that could be an issue...engine exhaust temp, backpressure, possible decreased fuel milage, power, etc etc. Is it ok to stray away from stock exhaust on a Goldwing or will the aftermarket swap have negative consequences to the engine? They offer one for my wife's CTX700N i am considering, so the same question would apply. No worries or bad idea? Thank you all for the help!

·
Vendor
16,026 Posts
I have one in my shop now that has Torque-Loop exhaust. You might look into that. Unfortunanly, to install them requires cutting the cats. off. The end result is an extremely smelly exhaust system ... at least that's how it is now. It's in for a major service which includes new spark plugs, valve adjust, and air filter. I'm sure all that will only help the smelly exhaust some.

·
Registered
3,222 Posts
Looks like a "fits all" muffler tip product. Also I do not see where they offer a Goldwing package. I would suspect that simply replacing your stock mufflers with a set of straight pipes, possibly with some "cheese grater" style baffles, might produce similar results.

·
Registered
1,847 Posts