GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
6,000 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
bought new,broke in like I allways break in bikes,oil change at 600-1000 miles with mobile one,noticed I use a bit of oil,did not think nothing of it till yesterday a friend did a video and I saw when I was hard on the gas to pass some bikes a bit of smoke out of the left pipe"as sitting on the bike",,,i still have a lot of warrenty so.......any ideas?

·
Registered
3,875 Posts
I'm not a mechanic, but I don't think it's any problem. But I've been wrong plenty of times before.....

·
Registered
2,731 Posts
I'm not a mechanic, but I don't think it's any problem. But I've been wrong plenty of times before.....
Burning oil or a puff of smoke is not necessarily a problem. Only when it is excessive, or actually, only if you run out of oil. You didn't mention how many miles you have on the bike.

·
Registered
693 Posts
I would monitor the usage more closely at this point. It's going to have to be an awful lot before Honda would tear down your motor.

You didn't mention if it was blue smoke or not. A little puff of blackish smoke when you get on it is not outside the norm.

I agree with above a simple plug check would tell a lot especially the left bank versus the right bank if you suspect something may be going on left side versus right side.

Compression and leak down are pretty easy and non invasive too.

Hope this helps.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
502 Posts
Hondas flat 6 cyl engine most always smoked a little after the bike was on the side stand for awhile. Could be that there might of had some traces of oil in the left bank that would be why you got a little smoke from the left side. You never said if it cleared up after it smoked or not but it doesn't sound like you have much of a problem if any at all.

·
Vendor
17,416 Posts