GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I was negotiating a price for painting my entire bike my first thought was I would take it apart myself and bring all the parts to the body shop myself. I have done this with all my other bikes and figured it wouldn't be that bad with this one. I know when I do this that it's done right with no broken tabs and nothing is rushed to get done. My Honda dealer service rep strongly advised me to let them take it apart and bring the parts over themselves. I figured he was trying to squeeze money out of me so I studied my service manual and figured he might be right, they're more parts to this beast than meets the eye. I'm glad I let him do it! They took 82, yes 82 pieces off my bike to get painted! I wanted every single piece to match so they got them all. Overall the price was incredibly fair for the dis-assembly and reassembly and it will be nice to drop off a complete bike and pick one back up. They even drove 35 miles each way to pick up the bike for free since there was snow on the ground. I went yesterday to drop off my K&N filter and Ultimate King seat for them to install and they told me since the bike was broken down they would do this for free, that's great service right there! I know it won't take them long to install either of these items since the bike is broken down and they would have to put a seat on anyway but they still could have charged me for this. Here is what I saw yesterday.....my bike is 6 months old with 3,000 miles on it.......:thumbup:

I should have it back next week....I can't wait!!!

·
Banned
792 Posts
Be sure to put up the finished pictures. That seems like a good dealer to have around as they appear to have some good customer service. :thumbup:

·
Registered
46 Posts