GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wanted to share my experience from this past Monday riding my
'01. I was in a hurry to get my hair cut, (my stylist had to leave right after
my appointment), anyway, I was thinking about getting to Winchester, (22 miles away), as quick as I could and not about how slick the road was. It had been raining off and on all afternoon but I didn't see any puddles so I wasn't paying that much attention to the grip of my tires. I'm still a GL1800 newbie having only had it since June so I'm still enjoying twisting the grip, (I never twisted the grip so much/often on my 1200. I was getting on the interstate from an entrance ramp that had two merging lanes but I was following a very slow semi truck so I decided to give it a little more gas than usual and go around on the right. At about 45 mph, the rear tire broke loose and the back end was sliding about a foot
left to right. Fortunately for me I had presence of mind not to freak out
so I let off the gas and she, (my bike), came back straight. Things could have really gone bad had it been a little more slick or I had grabbed just a little more throttle. It's a good thing I pray every morning while I ride; I think I'm going to pray on my way home from work too! I think it's time to realize ya' just can't get too wild on a wet day or things could get very expensive. I plan on thinking a lot more about road conditions after my wet weather experience. I do think I will try a Metzler or an Avon and see if I get better wet traction- I just won't be goosing the throttle any more on wet days. BE CAREFUL OUT THERE! Don W.

·
Registered
2,070 Posts
granpa in Cincy said:
I do think I will try a Metzler or an Avon and see if I get better wet traction-
I'd suggest Bridgestone instead