GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings from NM. 2009 GL1800. About 60k miles. Rode a few weeks ago and the bike ran great, as usual. Pushed it out today to ride to work. Took off the battery tender from the relatively new Interstate battery. Turned key to on, neutral light flashed and then went out. Lights are not on. Nothing showing on the little GW screen. Bike is in neutral. Hit starter button- nothing. Checked fuses- all fine. Checked starter relay by switching it out- no change- bike seems dead. When turning key on- neutral light either goes on then off, or flickers a bit and then off. Did some research here and on Docs but don’t see anything that helped. I’ll be the first to admit I’m not good with troubleshooting electrical issues. Ideas or suggestions? Thank you in advance for any help! Fred

·
Registered
1,288 Posts
Fred......

Make sure the battery cables are clean and tight.

Check the condition of your battery. 1) Voltage at rest (key off). 2) Voltage with key on and starter button pressed.

Report back.....!

·
Registered
606 Posts
Check the voltage at the battery. You do not have to be an electrical wiz to check the battery voltage. As long as you have a voltmeter that will measure DC, just check the voltage on the battery. Battery tenders do go bad once in a while and the battery doesn't charge. Fuses blow and then there is no connection between the battery tender and the battery. That can cause the battery to go flat.

·
Registered
444 Posts
I know you said you checked your fuses but make sure you checked the main 20A and 30A fuses as well. I had similar symptoms on my '08 last summer and replacing the main fuses solved it.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5