GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
630 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks!

My name is Steve McKenna and I’m located in Vancouver, BC. I’ve been riding a 1991 Yamaha Venture for the last 11 years but it’s time to move up to a new or at least newish GL1800.

My venture is up for sale and I’m starting my Wing search this weekend. First stop will be the local dealers to check their pricing and learn how the factory options are packaged these days etc (are the option packages listed here on the site somewhere?). Then I’ll check on my options for used bikes.

Are there any issues with say the 2004 to 2006s that I should be aware of in my search?

Cheers,
Steve

·
Registered
601 Posts
Welcome Steve,

Great trade up, You should love the Goldwing.
I am not aware of 2004 to 2006 models, but from what I have read there are no major issues on any of them.
Just the wobble, some have it, some don't.
Mine does, it was worse before I had the E3 installed on the front a couple of weeks ago.

Ride Safely... 8)

·
Registered
3,678 Posts
WELCOME...Steve

·
Registered
1,457 Posts
Welcome!
You're choosing a great bike that comes with this great community.
I had a '03 GL1800 that had recalls for ECM and frame weld? I had both done with no problems and sold the bike after 22k trouble free miles. I'm back on a '05 and have 16k trouble free miles on it. The wobble does seem to be hit/or miss. I have 2 friends who just traded their '03 GL1800's in for '06's one has the wobble the other doesn't. I've owned lots of bikes over the years and at 43yrs old am loving the wing!

Steve

·
Registered
630 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the welcome guys. I'm really looking forward to getting the wing. It's been a dream for a long time and that dream comes true very soon I hope!

·
Registered
2,556 Posts
If you want ABS and not have to buy the built in Nav system then you should look for an 05. Good luck.

·
Registered
1,090 Posts