GL1800Riders Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,751 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I have been reading this board for about two months and I figured its about time to introduce myself. I have been driving a Harley 2003 Dyna-wideglide for three years until I purchased a new dark metallic orange 2007 GL1800 with Nav/comfort pkg & ABS and Airbag this Dec 26. Unfortunately I had to go out of state to purchase the bike because after I reached a verbal agreement to purchase the motorcycle in Fort Myers, Florida. The sales manager vetoed the sale because the salesperson was new and quoted the price wrong. I was still going to pay the extra money but then they tried to get another eight hundred dollars for the extended warranty, which was included in the original quote. In short, the dealer wanted twenty eight hundred dollars higher than the original quote. Well because of this chat board, I was able to get the name of a dealer in Tennessee and purchase the bike for almost four thousand dollars cheaper. Moreover, the dealer had the bike in stock while my Fort Myers dealer said I would have to wait until February 2007 for the bike. I drove the bike home from Tennessee and was impressed by the comfort and riding characteristics of the Goldwing. I was not tired at all when I arrived at my home in Marco Island, Florida - approximately a 800 mile trip. I had previously ridden my Harley from North Carolina (The Dragon) to Florida and was tired sore & stiff. My wife could not ride with me on the Harley because she was previously involved in a auto accident and the Harleys vibration would cause her neck to hurt. Well this Saturday I just drove the Goldwing with my wife on a three hundred eighty mile round trip through the everglades and she (the wife) felt fine. Previously, the farthest that she was able to travel with me on the Harley was sixty miles before her neck would hurt. Now she wants a cup holder and all other items to make her traveling more