GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greatings, I wanted to introduce myself and I had a question for all the experts.

First, a bit about me. I've been riding for 30 years now.. In my state as a boy you could get your MC license at age 14. I was at the door on my birthday. I've never been without a bike since. Even when my wife said we should sell the bike because we needed money.. I sill have my bike, she's gone.. way better deal. ;)

I've ridden most types of bikes from standards to sport bikes. I have been riding the last few years an 84 GL1200 Asp which has served me well. One of the carbs has a stuck needle and I can fix anything but a carb.. I think they work on magic or something. So, I picked up a one owner 02 GL1800 in yellow and I'm really happy with it.. It looks nice and runs well. I've put about 500 miles on it over the last couple of weeks and have noticed something which brings us to my question.

Driving straight down the road at 60+ mph I hear a "groan/roar" from the front end. I checked the front tire and it seems to be wearing really nicely, the rear has a bit of scalloping but not bad. Now, if I put a slight left lean on the bike (almost as if changing lanes) the noise is gone, totally. If it put a slight right lean on it, noise continues. I'm thinking front wheel bearing myself but wanted more thoughts on the matter.

If it is a front bearing I assume its something I can do myself, I have a blind puller and my abilities likely are good up until "step 5, rebuild the motor" Any tips on front bearings? I understand there are 4 of them. I assume the inner ones get seated fully and the outers stop flush with something?

Thanks in advance. I see this is a lively group, happy to be a part of it and do some contributions in the future.

Bill

·
Registered
652 Posts
Welcome