GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been lurking for a while. Thanks to all of you I ordered a 04 black abs that should be in by the middle of february, and have a question regarding the onboard air compressor...how do you hook it up to inflate tires etc?

·
Registered
1,244 Posts
The GL1800 does not have an onboard air-compressor.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
OOPS,

oops...told you I was a newbie......that would explain why I have never heard anyone talk about it...thanks

·
Registered
16,972 Posts
I have heard praise and curses for the 1500 air supply. On the 1800 several folks have taken to using the inexpensive Campbell-Halstead 12volt unit sold at WM for less then 20 US dollars. They take the outer case off to save room and hook it directly to the battery with cable clips or use the two pole push together trailor type coupler with an inline fuse. I did that and the rig did not look to be something I wanted to rely upon out in the badlands. I have noticed a smaller 12V unit at Advanced Auto Parts that would be able to keep its shell, but I pack along my trusty foot operated Monkey Grip piston pump along with a self assembled kit of tire plugs, glue, gague, valve cores, valve core tool, exra dust caps, and Slime. to each his own -- may you ride millions and millions of miles wlithout need of any of that.

prs

·
Resident BBQ Expert
13,862 Posts
there are several 12 volt emergency type air inflators avaible in the 20 -50 dollar range. some are very tiny.

places like gander mt and rei camping stores offer a few choices.

loren

·
Registered
4,863 Posts
<Campbell-Halstead 12volt unit sold at WM for less then 20 US dollars>