GL1800Riders Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What oil filter/number and where do you buy, other than Honda do you use. I will be putting the 10W40 Mobil 1 fully synthetic, in my trike before taking a trip from Florida to Wing Ding at the end of the month. I have been using Amsoil with the Honda filter, but cost is getting too much. I know there has been a thread about different oils, but don't know much about searching. I am not looking for a discussion on oils, just want to change my own oil, and not pay a fortune, but still want to protect the trike.

THANKS
DAVID

·
Registered
1,036 Posts
Be SURE that the Mobil 1 10w-40 does Not say "energy conserving" in the circle printed on the label.

·
Registered
889 Posts
David,

Filter preference is kinda like oil preference, but I've been using Super Tech oil filters since about 2003. My Yamaha RSV, my previous GL1500 trike, and now my GL 1800 trike all use the same oil filter. A good long while ago, I bought several different brands of filters to fit, and autopsied them to see what they looked like inside. There are some good filters out there, and there are some that are not so good, based on what I saw inside. Some of each type cost a little, and some cost a lot. Cost is not necessarily an indicator of quality.

There are only three or four major manufacturers of filters. Each maker makes filters to the specs of their customers, so they make some better than others. The Super Tech filters were well made when compared to others. I also autopsied two or three of them after they had been used for a full oil change. What I saw suited me. The filter was still in very good condition inside and appeared to be doing it's job very well when removed.