GL1800Riders Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
396 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First time readers can stop here...with help, I figured out my issue.

I just installed RaceTech Gold Valves. I have a Shop Manual and the RaceTech instructions, but this is my first time disassembling forks. I initially install RaceTech 1.2 springs as well...more on that in a second.

When I got everything back together, I took it for a ride and I thought I was riding a bike with a solid front fork. I have a bump at the end of my driveway and when I hit it the bike pogo'd back up a few inches. Upon further investigation, I have about 1" of fork travel, even hitting this bump hard. When I rock the bike with front brake applied, all I can get is this 1" of travel and it feels like I've bottomed out, but the bike is sitting higher than stock at rest.

Initially I thought my 1.2 springs were too stiff so I just put the stock springs back in and I still have this same limited travel.

What did I do wrong is my main question. Help, I want to ride this weekend, but I don't think riding it like it is borders on dangerous.

·
Registered
396 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Did you change fork oil and if so,,, did you work the right side plunger up and down till it filled with oil ??????????
I did change the fork oil, and I did let all the air get out by moving the plunger up and down, but if someone tells me that is the likely target I'll go at that fork again.

When I just changed the springs, it seemed to be moving ok.

·
Registered
396 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Ok, next question........ did you put proper amount of oil in and not overfill??????????
Service manual says 5" from the top without the springs in, RaceTech says 5.1"...I'm pretty close to one or the other...lol

Unless I misread something...

·
Registered
396 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Oops, problem solved.