GL1800Riders Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
863 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
on a two wheel trailer, the weight is carried on the trailer axle with distribution of the load to get the weight on the tongue like you want it. I understand that. The one wheel i don't understand. If you put 100 lbs in the trailer, will that mean 50lbs on the tongue and 50 on the rear wheel? sounds like a no brainer, but i am not an engineer.

·
Registered
154 Posts
on a two wheel trailer, the weight is carried on the trailer axle with distribution of the load to get the weight on the tongue like you want it. I understand that. The one wheel i don't understand. If you put 100 lbs in the trailer, will that mean 50lbs on the tongue and 50 on the rear wheel? sounds like a no brainer, but i am not an engineer.
A quick internet search revealed that the more the weight is distributed toward the rear of the one wheel trailer the less the tongue weight is. Makes sense to me. The larger the kid on the left side of the teeter totter and all that math stuff. :confused:
Bet Tom Finch has a formula for this...

·
Registered
8,038 Posts
A quick internet search revealed that the more the weight is distributed toward the rear of the one wheel trailer the less the tongue weight is. Makes sense to me. The larger the kid on the left side of the teeter totter and all that math stuff. :confused:
Bet Tom Finch has a formula for this...
Same is true for the two wheel trailer, and oddly enough for the 4 wheel tandem trailer. The more rearward the weight the less pressure on the ball Ie: tongue weight. :shrug: Also the longer the tongue the less weight on the ball, with the same loading. :doorag: Physics 101.

To make it simple and easy to understand: